Manipur literally meaning “A jeweled land” nestle deep within a lush green corner of North East India. It seems much like an exquisite  work of  art  executed by  superb hands of  Nature and  is indeed a state of exquisite natural  beauty  and splendors,  the beauty of which once inspired Mrs. St. Clair Grimwood described it as ” A Pretty Place more beautiful than many show places of the world” Late Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru paid a fitting tribute by describing it as “Jewel of India”.
Surrounded by blue hills  with an  oval shaped valley at the centre, rich in art and tradition  and surcharged  with  nature’s  pristine  glory. Manipur  lies on a melting pot of culture. It is birth place of Polo. This is the place  where Rajashree  Bhagyachandra  created the  famous Ras Lila, the classical dance of Manipur, out of his enchanting dream by the grace of Lord Krishna.
Her folk dances reveal the mythological concept of creation of Manipur.
Having a  varied and proud history  from the  earliest  times,  Manipur  came under the British Rule as a Princely State after the defeat in the Anglo-Manipuri  War of  1891. After  independence of  India in  1947,  the Princely State of Manipur was merged in the Indian Union on October 15,1949 and became a full-fledged State of India on the 21th January, 1972 with a Legislative Assembly of 60 seats of which 20  are  reserved  for  Scheduled Tribe and 1 reserved for  Scheduled  Caste.  The State is represented in the Lok Sabha by two members and by one member in the Rajya Sabha.


Particulars Datas
Area 22327
Population 27,21,756
Capital Imphal
State Language Manipuri
State Emblem Kangla Shaa
State Bird Nongyeen
State Animal Sangai
State Game Manipuri Polo
State Flower Siroi Lily
Density of Population( per Sq Km.) 82
Literacy Rate (Male) 86.5%
Literacy Rate (Female) 73.2%
Altitude 790 mtrs. above MSL (Imphal)
Latitude 23.830N to 25.680N
Longitude 93.030E to 94.780E
Rainfall 1467.5 mm (Avg.)
Rainy Season May to October
Schedule Tribes 33 (Recongised by Government)
Assembly Constituencies 60 (40 General, 19 ST, 1 SC)
Parliamentary Constituencies 2 (One for Inner and One for Outer)
National Highways 3 (39-Indo-Myanmar road, 53-New Cachar Road, 150-Jessami-Tipaimukh Road)